About the Mayor

Mayor Nehring’s Priorities

  • Downtown revitalization, which includes combating crime, cleanup and investment in public spaces, and attracting and retaining a mix of businesses that create a more walkable, pedestrian-friendly downtown and waterfront area
  • Maintaining public safety as a top priority and ensuring that integrated and innovative approaches to policing are responsive to community needs and built around a partnership of trust between citizens and police personnel. We are proactively and aggressively combatting the opioid epidemic with a mix of offering services to those who want help and law enforcement actions for criminal behaviors. 
  • Expanding economic development efforts to provide more services for our residents as well as adding more family-wage jobs in Marysville, with a specific focus on creating a master-planned manufacturing/industrial job center in the Smokey Point area east of I-5. 
  • Improving traffic circulation and alleviating traffic congestion through major road construction projects like those completed in the last few years, including the 156th Street/I-5 overpass in the Lakewood-Smokey Point area, 51st Avenue extension connecting 84th to 88th, SR 92/SR 9 break in access in the Sunnyside-Whiskey Ridge area, and sidewalk/shoulder improvements. 
  • Continue to make local investments and work with state and federal elected officials to obtain funding for much-needed major transportation improvements. Currently the city is leading construction of a new First Street Bypass and widening State Avenue between 100th and 116th Street NE from three to five lanes. An I-5 interchange expansion at 116th Street NE is nearly complete. Future projects fully funded and scheduled for construction between 2020 and 2030 include a new I-5 interchange at SR 529, I-5 interchange improvements at 88th Street NE and a new I-5 interchange at 156th Street NE. We appreciate tremendous partnerships at the county, state and federal levels to help meet our community’s growing transportation needs. 
  • Developing parks on property that the city owns. Building more trails for our parks inventory including connecting the Bayview Trail in the east Marysville foothills to the regional Centennial Trail and expanding the Ebey Waterfront Trail within the Qwuloolt Estuary.
  •  Maintaining customer service, transparency and accountability in city government and prioritizing constituent issues with prompt response. One example of this transparency is the Open Checkbook feature on the city website that gives taxpayers a clear, accessible way to review city finances.
  • Investing in our water infrastructure so that Marysville can be self-sufficient in providing water to residents and businesses. This will provide for stable rates far into the future and allow us to avoid paying the much higher rates that other cities face when purchasing water form other jurisdictions. We are making significant progress here and now provide the majority of our own water locally, decreasing the need to purchase expensive water from other entities.
  • Partnering with our residents and businesses to clean up Marysville and show real pride in our community, an effort that great benefits all of us. 

Contact Us

  1. Nehring2019web

    Jon Nehring


    Mayor's Office

    1049 State Avenue
    Marysville, WA 98270

    Phone: 360-363-8000
    Fax: 360-651-5033

    Monday - Friday
    8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

About Mayor Nehring

Mayor Jon Nehring earned his Associate’s degree in Business Administration from Everett Community College, then completed his Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration through Central Washington University, and has a Master’s degree from St. Leo University. Nehring gained 17 years of business and management experience in the private sector before becoming Mayor.

His leadership, business, sales, management, and marketing background are assets to expanding on the solutions-seeking atmosphere of collaboration and cooperation that are the trademark of Marysville government in its solid relations with neighboring cities and towns, the Tulalip Tribes, and Snohomish County as well as various organizations and community groups.

Nehring has also volunteered time in community service throughout his tenure as a Marysville Rotarian, with local youth sports programs, and in other areas.

Among his committee, board positions and affiliations:

  • Association of Washington Cities (AWC) Board Member
  • Community Transit Board Member
  • Economic Alliance of Snohomish County (EASC) Board Member
  • EASC Military Affairs Committee Member
  • Snohomish County 911 Board Member
  • United Way of Snohomish County (2013 Campaign Chair)
  • University Center of North Puget Sound Advisory Council
  • Numerous City of Marysville committees
  • Marysville Rotary Club President (2019)

Prior to his appointment to the Mayor’s office by the City Council in July 2010, Nehring served on the City Council starting in January 2002, including several years as Mayor Pro Tem.  

Nehring and his wife, Mari-Anne, live in Marysville. They are the parents of three grown children: Nate, Kristin and Nicholas.

Terms of office    
Elected Jan. 2020- Term expires Dec. 31, 2023
Elected Jan. 2016-Dec. 2019  
Elected Jan. 2012-Dec. 2015  
Appointed July 2010-Dec. 2011